Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Tips on reviving a dead XT PSU? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Erik



Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Location: LI, NY

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2020 7:36 am Reply with quoteBack to top

One of the power supplies for my XTs decided to die randomly. It used to work fine but now doesn't output any power to the board.

Any tips or ideas where to look first that might be a simple fix? It's definitely the power supply as when plugging in a different one, the computer boots right up (or as quick as it can slowly count the ram Laughing ).

I checked the fuse in the PSU and it's still intact. Nothing appears to be burnt inside and none of the caps are bulging.

Thanks!

_________________
Nukem Enterprises - http://eriks.servehttp.com
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 6:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just because capacitors don't bulge, doesn't mean they're not bad. Electrolytic caps are the first suspect in any P/S that shows no other signs of failure.

It'd also go a long way for you to purchase a (cheap) multimeter. They can be had for a little over $6 at Harbor Freight. They're still good enough to check for electrical shorts and measuring resistors, diodes and transistors...


https://www.harborfreight.com/7-function-digital-multimeter-63759.html
View user's profileSend private message
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

And, FWIW, I repaired a board (for a car-wash) yesterday at work which had a shorted electrolytic cap in the power supply section. It showed absolutely no signs of being bad...it's routine for me to check these since they are on a backplane board that supplies power to other boards.
View user's profileSend private message
Erik



Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Location: LI, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Sorry for the very late reply. I just finally got around to taking this thing apart and checking things with my multi-meter.

Case taken off:
Image

Large caps... look okay but as you said, they could still be bad.
Image

Left side of board. According to some youtube video I found, the two green caps and the one on the right are for the 5v & 12v output. (If it that source can be trusted) Also "look" okay.
Image

Power input board. This one checked out with the multimeter. Neither fuse is blown and I get 120v to the black & white plug to the main PSU board.
Image

This is the board I'm currently questioning. I see the 120v entering but lose it when it enters the blue block. Not sure when power gets changed from AC to DC. Any ideas on what voltages I should see here?
Image

There's no voltage output to the power plugs or the fan connector. (I made sure to load the PSU with two IDE hard drives to hopefully meet the minimum load required to switch it on.)

_________________
Nukem Enterprises - http://eriks.servehttp.com
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

After draining all potential voltage sources (large capacitors), check to make sure primaries and secondaries of all the transformers are not open. Wouldn't hurt to use a (clean) paintbrush and compressed air to dust off this before proceeding. I'm guessing you've checked all the solid state (diodes, transistors, voltage regulators) for shorts?

Does your multimeter do capacitance? If your desoldering skills are good, then it wouldn't hurt to remove the electrolytics to see what they measure (an in-circuit reading isn't reliable). Just make sure polarity is correct when you replace them.
View user's profileSend private message
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2020 12:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

That blue block is a relay. Relays have two parts: A coil and a switch. You'll have to look at the data sheet to see if the 120V enters the coil side or the switch side. I bet it enters the switch side.

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Skyfrog



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Is it for sure the power supply and not a shorted tantalum cap on the motherboard? The power supply has a safety feature where it will not do anything if there is a short anywhere in the system.


Last edited by Skyfrog on Sun Dec 20, 2020 6:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
View user's profileSend private message
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hmmm, that site looks very similar to minus zero degrees (which I know to be legit). I'd be somewhat cautious about any downloads from there...

http://minuszerodegrees.net/5150/problems/5150_known_problems_issues.htm
View user's profileSend private message
Skyfrog



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 6:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You're right, looks like someone just completely copied the site. I removed the link just to be safe.
View user's profileSend private message
Erik



Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Location: LI, NY

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2020 1:36 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Skyfrog wrote:
Is it for sure the power supply and not a shorted tantalum cap on the motherboard? The power supply has a safety feature where it will not do anything if there is a short anywhere in the system.


Yep, positive it's the power supply. I have a different power supply from my 286 in there now and the computer works fine with it.

Sorry for the lack of updates on this.. things have been pretty busy lately so I haven' had time to really tinker with anything yet. I'll be sure to update this thread once I make some progress.

_________________
Nukem Enterprises - http://eriks.servehttp.com
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT