Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 rubber band floppy View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:25 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

what I am trying to do is clear a boot sector virus
ot showed up in a new? 15g 9 wow) drive i was given.
I fdisk/formatted it and it seemed to be fone and after i started using it for backup,. it showed up again.
I use avg virus origram and IT sduggests making a rescuer disk set and using That to clear the virus
TROUBLE is after disk in boots the system it says " insert disk 2" i do so and it says " insert disk 2" seems all floppies are the same.
I have runinto this before and sometimes i dir a different drive and come
back and it is ok
but HERE i am in a batch file and cannot break out or log another drive.

any ideas.
later, i will have to fix the virus
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 760
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Power button?

[CTRL] + [C] will sometimes work when [CTRL] + [BREAK] won't.

Did you do an FDISK /MBR to get rid of the virus on the drive?

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Tom S



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

If this is a Newer computer, (can boot from CD-rom) Get the Ultimate boot CD, then after burning/booting from the cd, load the harddrive tools for whatr ever drive you have and Zero the drive (some have it where you can zero the beginning part of the drive and they end, do this if it's an option). After zeroing the drive, the virus should be gone.
PS, sometimes Zeroing the drive is called low level formatting)
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
View user's profileSend private message
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

my virus program suggests using a "rescue disk" set and i made 3 sets. but disk 2
( and it's ok) is not recognized.
after I successfu;;y " nroke out" of th startup batch file. evey floppy even from another stack of disks had the same dir.
seems the same thing exists today

it is the 3rd hd that has the virus, it was given to me and was empty after i saw the virus report, i fdiskked and formatted the drive. for a while NO virus report awas given "nadas" os it's name.

the 2nd hd has serious problems , it only scans with scandisk win or dos to 6%
then stops. i am gradually copying all the files to the strange 15g drive.
but i would FEEL MUCH more comfortable if i could clear the virus message.

I know it is the 3rd drive and not the fauty one as i boot with different drive combos and only when the 15g is connected do i get the message.

another complication: the 15g requires a promise ata 66 card and the strange 6.2g is a drive with different jumpers settings for master or single. so if i run only cSad6.2g)
and d: with the flakeyness is also a 6.2g
I have 3 6.2g seagate drives and the other 2 have serious bad spots.
I suspect this one may have problems, also.
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=http://support.microsoft.com:80/support/kb/articles/Q69/0/13.ASP&NoWebContent=1

microsoft says fdisk/mbr can be only applied to the boot drive.
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 760
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:35 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Sure--that's what they want you to believe.

I'm not 100% sure this will work, but you can try it:
Quote:

Source:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000175.htm

Q.) How can I recreate the Master Boot Record on a different hard disk drive other than my primary hard disk drive?
A.) Use FDISK /CMBR <drive number> where <drive number> represents the drive you wish to recreate the master boot record. To determine the drive number, run the fdisk /status command.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:26 am Reply with quoteBack to top

a cmos clear - easy herer as it is a accessible switch-- and changing floppy drive and the cable
eventually led toi be able to read 2 floppies w/o the 2nd one having the same DIR.
I used f-prot and then the avg rescue set ( made on another pc)
would also wotk NATAS is gone, i could log c with z=tree but not d or e
it was accessible via dis,
I tried xtree and it saw c,d,e
deleter ztree and re-installed,
carefukl to keep floppies write pritected.
did sewceral cmos clears with the switch.
no sign if natas virus.
after reinstall of ztree it would see the other drives.
internet connection was apparently now affecxted. I will put in a firewall.
possibly zone alarm.
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT