Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is Windows 98 more secure? View next topic
View previous topic
Ki Mendrossen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:00 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Today I had a customer that wanted to buy an emachines computer. He said he likes emachines and that is all he will go with because they have drivers for Windows 98. He said he downgrades all his systems to windows 98 and that anyone who uses windows xp is an idiot becuase they always suseptible to threats such as worms. He sounded real smug and superior about it. I tried to explain to him that the filesystem NTFS is more secure than FAT32 in that FAT/FAT32 leaves the files open to everyone. He then stated very rudely that I am a novice who clearly knows very little of computers.

I wish I knew a little more to debate this joker. What do you guys think?
wdegroot

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:39 am Reply with quoteBack to top

everybody is entitled to their own opinion
that said , many are dead wrong
I stick with w98se because i was dragged from dos.w 3.1,wfwg, and 95.
I do have problems with windows breaking,
I have a ghost inage of my wifes system.

I use xp at my d-i-l as that's what came with her system.
I have fixed it 3-4 times, about that same as the w98 systems here,

fix: put in the cd and usually after fdisk/ format.
once in a while, i do load windows over windows, not a great idea,
it can totally screw up DUN. but is less damaging to networked systems.
there are 5 systems here and all run 98se.
I have played with both w2000 and xp and don't see any reason to upgrade.

this does not mean i AGREE with the downgrader.

he likely had other reasons as well and a serious consideration is the systeme an older one designed and intended for 98 or xp.